Community Appearance Commission

The purpose of the Commission is to advise the Town Council (Council) and Manager on community appearance issues to include, but not be limited to, enhancing the appearance of the municipality and its surroundings, making recommendations for planting of trees, shrubs or other planting materials to Town property including Town right-of-ways, and any other matter that affects the overall appearance of the Town. The Commission shall work on other issues assigned by the Council or Manager. The Commission shall propose principles, goals, and methods, and offer guidance to the Council and Manager on community appearance issues(§ 3.05.057).


Community Appearance Commission Members

Lona Farula

Judi Lloyd

Lynn Torgersen

John Meehan

Nancy Dell'Aria

Meg Williams (Alt.)


Brenda Hall



Powers and Duties of  (§ 3.05.057)

POWERS AND DUTIES (§ 3.05.057)

The Commission shall report to the Town Council and shall have the following powers and duties:

(A) At the direction of the Council and Manager, conduct studies and make recommendations on matters relating to community appearance issues.

(B) Review operational reports and expenditures related to Commission activities, and prepare recommendations to the Council and Manager on ways to improve community appearance operations and finances.

(C) At the request of the Council and Manager, assist in the resolution of community appearance complaints and concerns registered by the town's citizens, governmental agencies, or other entities.

(D) All Commission reports, recommendations, or requests for actions shall be coordinated, as appropriate, with other town boards working through the Manager and Council.

(E) Because the Board is advisory in purpose, no Board member shall make, or have the authority to make, any contractual or financial obligations or arrangements on behalf of, or for, the town.


(A) There shall be seven (7) members of the Commission, to be appointed by the Council for 2-year staggered terms.  All members shall serve without compensation.  The terms of office shall commence on July 1 and end on June 30, 2 years later, unless appointed to fill a vacancy, in which the term would begin immediately and end when the term was scheduled to end.

(B) There may be up to 3 alternates on the Commission. These alternates may vote on Commission matters only if needed for a quorum.

(C) All members shall be residents of the town's planning and zoning jurisdiction.

(D) The Council may remove a Commission member only by taking a public vote. A Commission member who misses 3 consecutive meetings without being excused by the Commission shall be considered to have resigned membership in the Commission. The vacancy shall be filled by the Council.

Quick Links

Advisory Board Application Form

Meeting Schedule


Regular Meeting Third Wednesday (January, March, May, June, September, November) 4:00 PM

River Bend Municipal Building