A Purge Is Coming

REALLY IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT

Please read the whole thing. It could save your life or property.

A purge is coming to our Blackboard Connect notification system. All current contact information will be deleted. In order to continue receiving notifications, you MUST register again. We CANNOT register or re-register for you. We believe that Blackboard Connect is an important tool and we encourage you to register AFTER the purge. If you have never registered, please do so, but only after the purge date of December 15, 2021.     

For many years the Town of River Bend has operated an alert system known as Blackboard Connect. It is used to send important information and emergency announcements to our residents. It is a voluntary system. In order to receive the notices, you must register on line. The registration can be accessed on our web page. It only takes a few minutes. During the sign-up process, you are asked to provide your name, email and a password. Once you have done that, you will be sent an email with a link to complete your registration. During this process you will answer a few questions and you choose how you want to be notified. The options are: text, email or phone call. You can select one option or multiple options or all three. It’s up to you.

The reason for the purge is because we have a low delivery rate for our alerts and messages. It is because much of the contact information currently on file is inaccurate. Over the years, many residents have changed their email address or phone number and have not updated it in the system. We do not maintain the contact information at town hall. Even if we did, we could not update it because we do not know what email or phone number is best for you, the subscriber. Only you, the subscriber has access to your account and the ability to enter the correct contact information for you.   

Prior to the purge, we will be sending multiple notifications via Blackboard Connect in attempt to alert every one of the process and up-coming purge. If your account information is correct, you will also be receiving this notice through the Blackboard system. If your account information is not correct, we hope you see this notice on our web page or in your utility bill or in our e-news system. We realize that re-registering for those of you whose contact information is correct and has not changed will be an inconvenience. However, the goal of the system is to alert as many people as possible and we believe a purge and update is the best way to accomplish that goal. Don’t wait until after the next emergency and wish you were receiving the alerts. Please take action after the purge to get registered.   

The purge will take place on December 15, 2021.

After this date, please sign up for our Blackboard system.  

DO NOT, repeat DO NOT do anything to your account before the

purge date. If you do, all of those changes will be lost during the purge. A link to the sign-up page will be

posted on the 15th.